How do you manage?

One of the many questions that I inevitably face almost every other day from fellow parents is “How do you manage twins? It must be so stressful. ” Usually, I mumble some random answer or just laugh it away. To be very honest, I have never found twin parenting to be very difficult.  I had either my mother or my MIL to help me out during the first two years of motherhood. By the time they left, the boys were already on a fixed schedule. They ate together, they napped together everything was in a set pattern. I co slept with them, so I was never sleep deprived.  I did not get back to work till they were 3, so I had all the time in the world. We went shopping together, we went to the park, we read books and then when I had to cook or clean or just laze around with my computer, they played around me with each other. And of course there was D! I never had to do anything alone when he was home or was working from home. We had our share of stress with the surgeries, the delays, the never ending throw ups. But then I guess we ended up having more fun.

In my mind, it’s easier to manage twins. I had t do everything once.  My boys gave up the bottle together, they learnt to eat by themselves together, and they got potty trained together. All I had to make sure was that they do not hurt themselves or each other.  When I read a book to them, I did not have to read the same story twice to each of them. Plus they had each other whenever they got bored of me. Parenting in itself can be very difficult at times, but I do not think that parenting twins is something extremely different than having two kids of different age. In fact, I found it easier because they are on the exact same schedule.

Another thing is that, I do not find being a parent to be extremely difficult. The fact is, even after I got back to work, with my office-work and the kids, I do get a lot done now than before I was a mother. Before I had my boys, my social life was restricted to the weekend. Now I meet other parents at the park every evening. Some of whom have become my close friends. We girls take our time off from kids to watch movies, go out for an occasional drink, text each other throughout the day, and in general just be giggly girls at times. Our husbands play cricket together. In the park, I have found someone who is now an extremely close friend of mine.  And the weekday fun is not just limited to the park. D and I often go to other random places with the kids during the week. It is now easier to eat out with the kids, so we take them out to restaurants or just for an ice-cream.  Our favorite place is a lake very close to where we live. We take the boys there and just watch them run around and throw pebbles in the water. It is not that I do not stress or complain. There are the melt downs and the naggings and all the other things that a 4 year old boy can do.  A simple trip to the grocery store needs a ton of planning!! But then they will be 4 only once. And I am learning too. Each day I promise to be more patient with them, only to forget it the very next morning 🙂 but to be very honest, it’s really really fun. Even with all the tantrums, meltdowns, whining and crying! I will not trade this for anything. It IS double trouble, and double the fun.

2 responses »

  1. Great blog!

    When my boys were still babies, I remember that it totally depended on how my day was going, when someone said either “double trouble” or “doubly blessed”, how I responded. Little old ladies who caught me on a bad day and said “Oh, you’re doubly blessed!” would get a look that said “if you say so” Ha ha.

    If people ask me if it’s been terribly hard, I can only say that it gets easier all the time, which is totally true. The boys turn ten this summer and are so fun to be with – at least 90% of the time, rather! 😉

    Wishing for continued good health for your boys. I’ll definitely be back to read more!

  2. Thanks so much for dropping in. I hear what you say 🙂 They can play both the roles with such an ease. They fit into being Double trouble and Double blessings with such an ease!! LOL !! And it does get easier with time. This summer I am having a BLAST with them 🙂 HAve fun and keep Smiling 🙂

Leave a Reply

