Daily Archives: May 12, 2009

Cough Croup and Mother’s Day

It has been crazy last few days with the boys down with cold. Couple of days back we needed to take Bumbum to the ER in the middle of the night.  It was scary to hear him cough the way he was. We took him to the same hospital where he was born and stayed in the NICU. The doctors were as prompt as ever and they diagnosed him to be suffering from croup. They gave him a shot of some steroid and comforted us that he should be breathing well in the next  couple of hours.

Bumbum recovered well and I could heave a sigh of relief. My heart was in my mouth as I sat in that bed holding  him tight waiting for him to start breathing well. The stroid kicked in and he started breathing normally slowly. We came back home around 4 am.  But the stroid was only for the croup so that he starts breathing well. It does nothing to cure the common cold. Here the doctors do not give much medication for cold and flu for babies. There are no cough syrups for babies which are available OTC. But I think the boys are dealing with it well so far. I get paranoid because they being preemies they are at higher risk for all kind of infections.

Mothers Day came in all this chaos. Last year at M-Day my boys were fighting for life at the NICU. The nurses made me a card and let me hold them for a couple of hours. This year they are home. They smile, they babble, they cry, they make a mess, they yell, they break things, they drive me crazy with their non stop yelling… And doing all that .. they make me what I am … A Mother!

 For me Motherhood did not come easy. The pregnancy was tough; I had been to the hospital in each trimester with heavy bleeding. At every point there was a scare of losing the boys. But they hang in there, and they came in early… way too early.  The boys did not come home with me after their birth. No one can explain how a mother feels to leave behind her children and come home days after giving birth.  It is an empty hollow feeling. They came home after 90 days, making me complete. We still have health issues to sort out.

But I believe in God and I believe in my boys.